4 FAQ about auto insurance in Surprise, AZ

Auto insurance isn’t a luxury. It’s the law.

Arizona drivers are subject to specific auto insurance requirements like most other states. Giles & Iten Insurance knows keeping up with these mandates can be confusing. Luckily, their agents can help.

Serving Suprise, AZ, Giles & Iten Insurance answers four frequently asked questions about auto insurance.

What auto insurance is required?

Described by statute as "mandatory insurance," Arizona requires liability coverage. This includes $25,000 of bodily injury liability for any one person and a total of $50,000 for two or more people. The state also mandates a minimum of $15,000 in property damage liability.

How is Arizona’s auto insurance law unique?

Arizona offers a couple of distinctions that aren’t very common. First, it is a comparative negligence state. This means that "fault" can be split between multiple drivers based on a percentage of responsibility. Additionally, Arizona is also a diminished value state. This allows drivers to make claims to recoup losses based on reduced re-sale value resulting from a collision.

What are the penalties for driving uninsured?

Motorists who drive unlawfully are subject to penalties. These are based on the number of offenses but often include steep fines and suspension of driving privileges. The cost of auto insurance will also increase in the future.

What options can I add to my policy?

Minimum auto insurance is rarely enough. Although Arizona drivers can opt out of underinsured/uninsured protection, these are encouraged. This shields you in the event of an accident with a driver who lacks proper insurance. Collision, comprehensive, and medical payment coverage are also recommended.

Contact an agent serving Surprise, AZ

Giles & Iten Insurance provides more than just answers. Their experienced agents can find a policy that keeps you safe and secure on the roadways. Schedule an appointment today.